Control your map activity
Controlling map activities is an essential function to help the Facilitator run a smooth collaborative session.
GroupMap provides the facilitation controls of each process step with an aim to help customize, restrict, import, and view access to all participants o achieve a common goal or task.
GroupMap welcomes any functional or design suggestions to help our community communicate and promote the effective use of our maps.
To locate the facilitation controls:
- Go to the map.
- Navigate to the process steps (top). Click the down arrow to reveal the facilitation controls.
A summary of the functions are below:
This brings all participants in a workspace or map to this step of the map. They will not be able to move to another stage until this is unchecked or the facilitator moves them to another.
This displays a timer with preset times that count downs for each step. The timer is just a guide and can be adjusted. It will not stop people from finishing typing at the end of the timer.
Participants can view
If you don't want participants to see a stage until you are ready, you can hide a step by disabling view access for participants. You can create all the steps beforehand and then unlock them as you go.
PARTICIPANTS CAN EDIT
If you would like to have a discussion or questions before people start to contribute, you can disable editing which means that they cannot add to the map but they can see this step.
SORT BY IDEA
This provides a range of sorting features such as alphabetical, oldest first, newest first, or random.
This filters ideas by colour, pinned ideas, select fields or categories (if set up). This is useful to just focus on a few key ideas during a step.
Change the settings of the process step at any point.
This lets you import ideas from a different map.
CLEAR ALL IDEAS
This permanently clears all ideas, comments or votes from a map.